Daily Archives: January 21, 2009

Adventures in the Backcountry

karhu1

New skis and bindings. These things are awesome.

I am just going to put it out there- backcountry conditions are perfect right now and they were perfect last weekend.  Despite lots of traffic on our ungroomed backcountry trails conditions are so good.

After a year of wanting the Karhu Guides I finally got my hands on a pair and skied them last weekend.  WOW it was awesome.  They are light, have waxless pattern in the middle and metal edges.  I skied up to Bryant Cabin with no problem and glided/turned some of the chutes off Gardners Lane on the way back down.

This past Sunday I went out skiing with Angus, Kricket, Pete and Matt.  They planned to do a longer ski, so I joined them up Bryant and about 1/2 way out Birch Loop, then turned around and had a leisurely ski back to the Nordic Center.   I had a fantastic ski with good friends, nice snow and perfect trails all in an hour and a half.  You don’t have to go far or be out there all day to have a great experience on our trails.

On the lookout for powder. . . the ski up to Bryant Cabin is a perfect time to chatch up with friends.

On the lookout for powder. . . the ski up to Bryant Cabin is a perfect time to chatch up with friends.

Angus standing next to one of his maps posted on Bryant Cabin.  He is a great cartographer and we love the map that he made for Bolton Nordic.

Angus standing next to one of his maps posted on Bryant Cabin. He is a great cartographer and we love the map that he made for Bolton Nordic.

A happy group, sheding layers and getting ready for the next part of the ski.

A happy group, sheding layers and getting ready for the next part of the ski.

The way back down from Birch Loop was really fun.  I came across Chris, one of our Nordic Ski Patrolers, at Bryant Cabin.  Chris and I shared some of our morning adventures and then went off in different directions.  From Bryant Cabin I skied out Gardners Lane and took a sharp right on Big Blue.  Gardners Lane has a nice skied in track and once I got to Big Blue (a nice steep chute) there was some tracks ahead of me, but also mounds of of nice fresh powder.  At the bottom of Big Blue I decided to get back on Bryant Trail headed down.  And near the World Cup intersection I explored on of Art’s newer trails- Cup Runneth Over.  This is a great trail marked with red markers that connects from Bryant to Broadway near the pump house.

I’m going to work on a course for Saturdays BK Youth Race…. photos from my weekends adventures will be online soon.

Liz

